//
you're reading...
Kerala Dishes, Sadya, South Indian Dishes, Vegetarian Dishes

Kerala Parippu Recipe – Moong Dal Curry – Simple Yet Nourishing


As far back as I can remember, my Father has been subscribing to Reader’s Digest. From cover to cover, highly engaging articles supplement our vocabulary, entertain us, increase awareness of health, finance, environment and practically everything that is worth knowing and motivate us with real-life dramas.

Now we have zillions of magazines to choose from. But I’ve yet to see one so dedicated to being, in all ways, a steady companion guiding you into safe, straight wide roads –  gently underlining the do’s and don’ts of life as simply as upgrading from a, b, c, to the higher degreeand  impresses upon us the finer points of the art of living. In short, like a thali, where the complete meal is laid out in one platter, from the soup …..to the mains…. to the dessert.

At the very start of the sadya, Parippu is poured onto rice. A teaspoonful of fragrant ghee is quickly added on top of it. Crisp it up with fried pappadam; the result is a classic, clean, natural taste,  faithfully in touch with the subtle character of Malayali cuisine. Along the width and length of Kerala, different variations of Parippu are seen. Here is the recipe Amma passed on to me.

PARIPPU / പരിപ്പ്

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Moong Dal / Mung Dal / Cherupayaru Parippu
  • 1/2 tsp Turmeric Powder
  • 1 stalk Curry Leaves
  • 1 tsp Coconut Oil
  • Salt to taste
  •  Grind to a fine paste
  • 1/2 cup Fresh Scraped Coconut
  • 1 generous pinch Cumin Seeds / Jeerakam

Preparation

  • Fry yellow dal lightly to golden brown in a thick bottomed pan till a distinctive aroma arises.
  • Wash the roasted lentils and cook with turmeric powder in 3 cups water, gently simmering in low heat. Set aside to cool. Add salt and mash well.
  • Mix coconut paste to the cooked lentils; it should be of pouring consistency, neither too thick nor too thin. Stir and heat again. Allow to simmer for switch off the stove.
  • Add a delicate seasoning of coconut oil and curry leaves to the dish and cover to absorb the flavours.Voila, Parippu is ready. Serve hot with rice. Simple, isn’t it?  It’s tasty too

About Paddy

When I married and came to Bangalore, it was a real ‘Pensioners’ Paradise.’ The climate was as today’s generation would say – ‘Awesome’. It was cool and pleasant throughout the year. My parents cautioned me to keep warm and have given me the loveliest Kashmir shawls, which I treasure to this day. Since I could not distinguish between rice and dal, cooking was an uphill task. I had a cook from Kerala, but the cold weather did not suit her and in a month’s time, she went back. Looking back, I have come a long way now… Cooking for me has metamorphosed from a daily routine of making edible and nutritious food for my family to an exciting journey of creativity by experimenting with different flavors and ingredients. To me, food is not only for nourishment and sustenance. Its taste and flavors take us back to our good times too. Food is nostalgia and comfort. It brings home our culture. Food is a treat and nourishment for the soul too. I dedicate this blog to my parents, who instilled in me a strong sense of ethics and discipline, and whose affection, love and support gives me strength in this journey of life. I feel the need of today’s generation, who come away from their homes and crave for home cooked food. To you too, I dedicate this blog, where I will share the recipes that I have learnt and grown to love over the years.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Kerala Parippu Recipe – Moong Dal Curry – Simple Yet Nourishing

  1. I did not know that parippu curry needed a paste of coconut-jeera ground in..The pics look so inviting. Simple comfort food.

    Posted by Rajani | February 19, 2013, 9:21 AM

Leave a Reply

