//
you're reading...
Desserts, Pudding

Tender Coconut Pudding – Moments Of Pure Enjoyment


I look forward to that day every month when I meet up with my friends for lunch to add new life, exchange ideas… and most of all to renew, rejuvenate and refresh ourselves. The positive vibrations  visibly crackle in the atmosphere and it is pure fun and enjoyment in one anothers’ company. The culinary treat that follows is real magic. The dining table glows with an array of visually aesthetic and mouth watering  creations – as they are crafted with a great deal of labor and thought. It is an acknowledged truth that the creation and presentation of fine dining is as much an art as  music, painting…………

And finally the perfect way of ending the perfect meal – the irresistible and impossibly delicious dessert.

The coconut palm was called ‘the tree of life’ in India, since it originally provided everything necessary for living. Growing up in the 70’s, the ideal refreshment during the day would be tender coconut water and the inner soft flesh, sprinkled with sugar, literally melts in your mouth with a fresh taste to beat all tastes.This recipe is an old one and brings to mind fond memories. I love this dessert and I am sure you will.

Tender Coconut Pudding

Preparation Time – 40 min.      Cook Time – 20 min.   Serves – 4

Ingredients

  • 1 Tender coconut
  • 1 cup Coconut milk  from 1 cup fresh grated coconut
  • 2 cups Milk
  • 2 Tbsp Cornflour
  • 6 Tbsp Sugar
  • 3 tsp Gelatin
  • 5 drops Vanilla essence

Preparation

  • Add 2 tsp sugar to the scooped out flesh of the tender coconut and keep aside to cool in the fridge.
  • Mix 1/2 cup water to the coconut gratings, grind it for a second and  strain  to realize 1 cup  coconut milk.
  • Make a paste of cornflour with a little milk. Add it to the thick bottomed pan  containing a mixture of coconut milk, the rest of the milk and sugar.  Mix well. Stirring constantly, in low heat allow to simmer to a custard-like consistency. Cool.
  • Dissolve gelatin in hot water and mix it to the above mixture and add the tender coconut pieces to it as well.
  • Add vanilla essence, stir and place in the refrigerator for the pudding to set.
  • Garnish with toasted coconut gratings or slices of tender coconut.

 My Friend’s Quick Egg Curry – Hard boil 4 eggs. Shell, halve and place them neatly on a serving bowl. Saute  finely sliced onion, finely chopped tomatoes, cut capsicum and 1/4 tsp masala. Off the stove. To this colorful sauteed vegetables, stir in 1 tsp hot chilli tomato sauce and salt. If you are not too keen on the heat of the chilli, settle for tomato ketchup. Spread this  warm gravy evenly on the eggs and allow  it to rest for 5 – 6 minutes  to absorb the flavors. Serve hot.

Quick Tip – A handful of thin beaten rice washed and added to soaked idli rice and ground together, helps to make idlis soft and fluffy.

About Paddy

When I married and came to Bangalore, it was a real ‘Pensioners’ Paradise.’ The climate was as today’s generation would say – ‘Awesome’. It was cool and pleasant throughout the year. My parents cautioned me to keep warm and have given me the loveliest Kashmir shawls, which I treasure to this day. Since I could not distinguish between rice and dal, cooking was an uphill task. I had a cook from Kerala, but the cold weather did not suit her and in a month’s time, she went back. Looking back, I have come a long way now… Cooking for me has metamorphosed from a daily routine of making edible and nutritious food for my family to an exciting journey of creativity by experimenting with different flavors and ingredients. To me, food is not only for nourishment and sustenance. Its taste and flavors take us back to our good times too. Food is nostalgia and comfort. It brings home our culture. Food is a treat and nourishment for the soul too. I dedicate this blog to my parents, who instilled in me a strong sense of ethics and discipline, and whose affection, love and support gives me strength in this journey of life. I feel the need of today’s generation, who come away from their homes and crave for home cooked food. To you too, I dedicate this blog, where I will share the recipes that I have learnt and grown to love over the years.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Tender Coconut Pudding – Moments Of Pure Enjoyment

  1. Looks great, must try it.

    Posted by Kavi | September 5, 2012, 5:18 PM
  2. Hey, there I had awarded you with SUPER SWEET BLOGGING AWARD, for further details check the link :http://scribbleofhappygoluckygal.wordpress.com/2012/09/05/yet-another-award/ Congrates..!!:)

    Posted by scribbleofhappygoluckygal | September 5, 2012, 6:01 PM
  3. nice recipe. I wish I could get some tender coco now.I just wish…!!!!!!

    Posted by Indhu | October 22, 2012, 3:57 AM
  4. I alwasy wnated to find out the recipe for ‘elaneer Payasam’ – maybe it si similar to this wonderful pudding recipe. Would you have it? Oh, please say yes!!

    Posted by Rajani | January 17, 2013, 7:14 PM

Leave a Reply

