//
you're reading...
Desserts

Custard Pudding with Ginger Biscuits – Planets and Stars and The Milky Way


I remember the time when my sister and I took  our children to  the Jawaharlal Nehru Planetarium. The sight of the stars and the planets mesmerised them. The realism had a sort of 3D effect on them – a space traveller goes through the rounds.  After the first visit they were hooked;  and it was one of their favourite haunts for many years to come. Their enjoyment for the day was topped off with a Fruit & Custard treat.

When I visited a dear friend of mine, she served me a chilled Ginger Biscuit & Custard pudding which I added to my favourite food diary. Over the basic recipe, I have garnished it with chocolate flakes and almonds. Enjoy !!!

GINGER BISCUIT & CUSTARD PUDDING:

Ingredients

  • Custard powder – vanilla flavour – 3 .5 Tbsp.
  • Milk – 1/2 litre
  • Sugar – 3 Tbsp
  • Ginger Biscuits – as required
  • Cadbury dairy milk chocolate – for garnish

Preparation

  1. Make thick custard with custard powder, milk and sugar.  Allow to cool.
  2. In a glass bowl alternate layers of custard sauce first, then ginger cookies,  repeat till they are exhausted, but make sure that the custard layer comes on top.
  3. Garnish with chocolate gratings and almond. Chill this delicious custard and ginger biscuit pudding  before serving.

As you can surmise, the variations are many. Raisins, nuts ,cut fruits.candied fruits go a long way to make the custard sweeter, and bolder. Better still an ice cream scoop on top of the custard would be lovely.

Quick Snack – Take Lijjad Masala Papad. Microwave it for one minute. Sprinkle fine cut onions, tomato, green chilly on it and serve.

Quick Tip Keep lemons at room temperature before squeezing. Roll lemons on a hard surface before juicing them.

About Paddy

When I married and came to Bangalore, it was a real ‘Pensioners’ Paradise.’ The climate was as today’s generation would say – ‘Awesome’. It was cool and pleasant throughout the year. My parents cautioned me to keep warm and have given me the loveliest Kashmir shawls, which I treasure to this day. Since I could not distinguish between rice and dal, cooking was an uphill task. I had a cook from Kerala, but the cold weather did not suit her and in a month’s time, she went back. Looking back, I have come a long way now… Cooking for me has metamorphosed from a daily routine of making edible and nutritious food for my family to an exciting journey of creativity by experimenting with different flavors and ingredients. To me, food is not only for nourishment and sustenance. Its taste and flavors take us back to our good times too. Food is nostalgia and comfort. It brings home our culture. Food is a treat and nourishment for the soul too. I dedicate this blog to my parents, who instilled in me a strong sense of ethics and discipline, and whose affection, love and support gives me strength in this journey of life. I feel the need of today’s generation, who come away from their homes and crave for home cooked food. To you too, I dedicate this blog, where I will share the recipes that I have learnt and grown to love over the years.

Discussion

One thought on “Custard Pudding with Ginger Biscuits – Planets and Stars and The Milky Way

  1. Yummy!!!!!!!!! loved the taste! Simple and the layers add detail! 🙂

    Posted by sindhu | April 7, 2012, 6:32 PM

Leave a Reply

