//
you're reading...
Non-Vegetarian Dishes

Kerala Mutton Fry – Attirachi Fry – Erachi Ularthiyathu – Sunny Days


At times when I relax  in the afternoon….. warm  memories cascade down……. away to those carefree sunny days..

For the first decade of my married life, my brother,  much younger to me,  was an integral part of our household. Off and on, through those years, he would be with us, sometimes for a course, during the holidays or sometimes when he or we wished to be together. During these times, he shared our joys and sorrows, our highs and lows. I  remember, opening a cola bottle when  India won the World Cup  and fizzling cola hit the ceiling,  how our greatest joy was to discover a lending library close to our place – with the added bonus of a bakery selling puffs (a rarity in our hometown then), how we celebrated New Year’s Eve driving around town, how I watched while he and my husband  played cricket – with the children running around excitedly, ...how I experimented with innumerable mutton recipes – his favourite dish..

  This rich brown mutton fry recipe was given to me by my friend .It is easy to make and delicious too !  Cooked with red chillies, ginger and onions and garnished with fried onions and green curry leaves, the taste of the melt-in-the-mouth erachi ularthiyathu  is just right and  not overwhelmed by the spices.

MUTTON FRY – Erachi Ularthiyathu

Serves: 4                Preparation Time :15 mins          Cooking Time : 45 mins

Ingredients

  1. Tender Mutton / Attirachi – 500gm (cleaned,cut)
  2. onion – 1/2 (cut fine)
  3. ginger -1″piece (cut into thin strips)
  4. red chilli powder -1tsp
  5. coriander powder -1/2 tsp
  6. turmeric powder -1/2 tsp
  7. curry leaves -1sprig
  8. oil – 4 tbsp
  9. salt – to taste

To Garnish -1 onion – sliced thin, curry leaves -1 stalk

Preparations

  1. Rub ingredients (2-7) on the mutton pieces well and keep aside for 10 minutes.
  2. Cook the meat in a pressure cooker. (I keep it for 3 whistles of the cooker). Allow the cooker to cool by itself. Heat the mutton, if necessary  till it is dry and all water is evaporated.
  3.  Heat oil in a heavy bottomed pan.   Add sliced onion first and and then curry leaves. Deep fry and keep aside for garnish.
  4. In the same oil add cooked mutton. In slow fire, fry the mutton till crisp on the outside. Garnish with fried onions and curry leaves. Your Mutton Fry is ready. Serve hot with rice or chappathis.

Quick Tip Pour hot liquids into a drinking glass/glass bowl only after placing a steel spoon in it. The steel spoon conducts the heat thereby preventing the glass from breaking.

Quick SnackCut paneer into squares. Make a paste of curd and kabab masala(I use Eastern) .Now marinate the pieces in it . Can be  heated on a tawa or baked in an oven . It tastes great as a snack or as an accompaniment to pulao.

About Paddy

When I married and came to Bangalore, it was a real ‘Pensioners’ Paradise.’ The climate was as today’s generation would say – ‘Awesome’. It was cool and pleasant throughout the year. My parents cautioned me to keep warm and have given me the loveliest Kashmir shawls, which I treasure to this day. Since I could not distinguish between rice and dal, cooking was an uphill task. I had a cook from Kerala, but the cold weather did not suit her and in a month’s time, she went back. Looking back, I have come a long way now… Cooking for me has metamorphosed from a daily routine of making edible and nutritious food for my family to an exciting journey of creativity by experimenting with different flavors and ingredients. To me, food is not only for nourishment and sustenance. Its taste and flavors take us back to our good times too. Food is nostalgia and comfort. It brings home our culture. Food is a treat and nourishment for the soul too. I dedicate this blog to my parents, who instilled in me a strong sense of ethics and discipline, and whose affection, love and support gives me strength in this journey of life. I feel the need of today’s generation, who come away from their homes and crave for home cooked food. To you too, I dedicate this blog, where I will share the recipes that I have learnt and grown to love over the years.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Kerala Mutton Fry – Attirachi Fry – Erachi Ularthiyathu – Sunny Days

  1. Thank you dear Chechi for taking me back to some of the best times of my life. A nostalgic journey which brings back welcome memories of the ‘good old Bangalore’ . Those were the days – carefree , funfilled and exciting. But what made Bangalore so enjoyable was Gopiettan, you and the kids. Every thing else was incidental. How can I ever forget those days ?
    Thanks a million !!

    Posted by KGN | February 19, 2012, 7:00 PM
  2. Well done padmini valiamma ! Waiting for more mouth watering dishes..

    Love,
    Gayathri

    Posted by Raj | February 19, 2012, 7:54 PM
  3. For Krishnan, Bangalore’s synonymous with happiness! Thanks to you & Gopiettan for that!
    He keeps reminiscing those beautiful moments often & I’m positive that he will treasure them throughout.. From what I have gathered, Gopiettan has played a pivotal role in shaping his life & has been a father figure to him.
    Will definitely try this recipe out which’d transport him back to his growing up years!!
    It’s comparable to a time machine, Rt?

    Posted by Raj | February 19, 2012, 8:41 PM
  4. We too treasure those days Raju. Those were some of of the best times of our lives too.
    Love
    Padmini Chechi

    Posted by Paddy | February 20, 2012, 11:50 AM

Leave a Reply

