//
you're reading...
Fish Dishes, Kerala Dishes

Kerala Fish Fry (Mackerel) – With Love From Amma



Embedded  in the green strip of the tropical coast line of Kerala is my home town, Kollam. It is where some of the best sea food of India is found and is as varied as sardines, mackerel, pomfret, squid, seer fish, ….. When we went  to Kollam for holidays, Amma made us the choicest of curries and delicious fish fries (yummmm). I still remember that overnight journey from Kollam to Bangalore when she had packed fried sardines and chappathi for dinner . The train started in the afternoon. Within an hour, we had polished it off.

Kerala Fish Fry (with Mackerel)

Serves – 4                   Preparation time – 20 mins                 Cook time – 15 min

Ingredients

  • Fish – 500 gms
  • Lime – One ,extract juice
  • Oil -1/2 cup
  •  Masala paste
  1.  Shallots -3, chopped
  2.  Garlic -2 ,chopped
  3.  Ginger – 1/2″,  chopped
  4.  Red chilli powder – 1 teaspoon
  5.  Pepper powder – 1/2 teaspoon
  6.  Turmeric powder -1/2 teaspoon
  7.  Coriander powder-1/2 teaspoon
  8. Curry leaves- a few
  9. Salt- To taste
Preparation
  1. Clean, wash and cut fish; If the pieces are large, make slits on the fish for masala to be absorbed.
  2. Mix lime juice with the masala paste, apply the paste on the fish pieces and  marinate the fish for 30 minutes  in the fridge.
  3. Heat  oil in a frying pan and shallow fry the fish till it turns golden brown .Turn and fry the other side too.
  4. The fish should  be crisp and brown on the outside and soft inside.Place them on a paper towel to drain the excess oil.  Serve hot.
Quick Cook:If in a hurry, mix turmeric powder, chilli powder, coriander powder and pepper powder  in a teaspoon of water or lime juice and use it as the masala paste  for fish fry.
Quick TipSqueeze lime over freshly cut fruits and vegetables  to  prevent oxidation and darkening.
About Paddy

When I married and came to Bangalore, it was a real ‘Pensioners’ Paradise.’ The climate was as today’s generation would say – ‘Awesome’. It was cool and pleasant throughout the year. My parents cautioned me to keep warm and have given me the loveliest Kashmir shawls, which I treasure to this day. Since I could not distinguish between rice and dal, cooking was an uphill task. I had a cook from Kerala, but the cold weather did not suit her and in a month’s time, she went back. Looking back, I have come a long way now… Cooking for me has metamorphosed from a daily routine of making edible and nutritious food for my family to an exciting journey of creativity by experimenting with different flavors and ingredients. To me, food is not only for nourishment and sustenance. Its taste and flavors take us back to our good times too. Food is nostalgia and comfort. It brings home our culture. Food is a treat and nourishment for the soul too. I dedicate this blog to my parents, who instilled in me a strong sense of ethics and discipline, and whose affection, love and support gives me strength in this journey of life. I feel the need of today’s generation, who come away from their homes and crave for home cooked food. To you too, I dedicate this blog, where I will share the recipes that I have learnt and grown to love over the years.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Kerala Fish Fry (Mackerel) – With Love From Amma

  1. mmmmmmmmmmmmmm! lip-smacking!!!!!

    Posted by sindhu | January 27, 2012, 11:53 AM
  2. Padmini chechi ,

    I love the blog.

    Krishna

    Posted by krishna | February 2, 2012, 10:44 AM
  3. yummy…just cant stop drooling padmini aunty..

    Posted by Kalyani Padmanabhan | May 2, 2012, 10:45 AM

Leave a Reply

