//
you're reading...
Soups

The Golden Soup – Carrot & Tomato Soup – A Lovely Start


Recently, I was invited by a very dear friend of mine for a get-together at her home. She served us soup, a tantalising, delicious golden broth,  a carrot and tomato soup, full of anti-oxidants and vitamins combining both taste and goodness.

Soups are warm, comforting and nourishing. Very right for a cool, Bangalore evening, where the temperatures at this time of the year  dips to 13 degree Celsius.

Hope you love it as much as I do!

The Golden Soup

Preparation time: 10 minutes        Cook Time: 20 minutes                Serves : 4

Ingredients

  1. Tomatoes – 4 medium
  2. Carrots – 5 medium
  3. Onion – 1/4 chopped fine
  4. Garlic – 4 crushed or minced
  5. Butter – 1.5 teaspoon
  6. Coriander leaves – 2 sprigs(optional)
  7. Grated cheese – 1 cube(optional)
  8. Croutons – 1 slice bread cut into squares and fried (optional)
  9. Salt – To taste
  10. Pepper – To taste
  11. Sugar – 1/4 teaspoon

 Preparation

  • Wash tomatoes and carrots, top and tail the carrots, scrape skin.
  • Pressure cook tomatoes and carrots in four cups of water for five minutes. Cool.
  • Separate stock and cooked vegetables. Reserve stock.
  • Slice cooked vegetables separately and set aside.
  • Melt butter in saucepan, saute onions and garlic for about 3 minutes until soft.
  • Add sliced carrots to saucepan. Stir fry for three minutes followed by tomatoes, salt , pepper and sugar. Stir fry for 3 minutes.
  • Cool mixture, puree in blender to satiny smoothness.
  • Combine puree and reserved stock in a pan. Heat, bring to boil and simmer till desired consistency is obtained.
  • Garnish with coriander leave / grated cheese / croutons.
  • Serve this wonderful, healthy, hot soup with buttered toast / garlic bread / bread sticks.
About Paddy

When I married and came to Bangalore, it was a real ‘Pensioners’ Paradise.’ The climate was as today’s generation would say – ‘Awesome’. It was cool and pleasant throughout the year. My parents cautioned me to keep warm and have given me the loveliest Kashmir shawls, which I treasure to this day. Since I could not distinguish between rice and dal, cooking was an uphill task. I had a cook from Kerala, but the cold weather did not suit her and in a month’s time, she went back. Looking back, I have come a long way now… Cooking for me has metamorphosed from a daily routine of making edible and nutritious food for my family to an exciting journey of creativity by experimenting with different flavors and ingredients. To me, food is not only for nourishment and sustenance. Its taste and flavors take us back to our good times too. Food is nostalgia and comfort. It brings home our culture. Food is a treat and nourishment for the soul too. I dedicate this blog to my parents, who instilled in me a strong sense of ethics and discipline, and whose affection, love and support gives me strength in this journey of life. I feel the need of today’s generation, who come away from their homes and crave for home cooked food. To you too, I dedicate this blog, where I will share the recipes that I have learnt and grown to love over the years.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Golden Soup – Carrot & Tomato Soup – A Lovely Start

  1. Good recipe. Easy to understand and execute

    Posted by Govindan Palat | December 25, 2011, 7:56 PM
  2. Hi Vama,

    I have become a frequent visitor of your blog. Great Work! The short preface, the innovative and mouth watering images of food ( I’m sure a lot of thought is put into it before clicking each image) are as attractive as the fine recipes. Was confused as to which recipe should I start my try outs with.. Now, This is it!

    Devi

    Posted by Devi AJ | February 2, 2012, 8:59 AM

Leave a Reply

