//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Welcome to Paddy’s Kitchen


When I married and came to Bangalore, it was a real ‘Pensioners’ Paradise.’ The climate was as today’s generation would say – ‘Awesome’. It was cool and pleasant throughout the year. My parents cautioned me to keep warm and have given me the loveliest Kashmir shawls, which I treasure to this day.

Since I could not distinguish between rice and dal, cooking was an uphill task. I had a cook from Kerala, but the cold weather did not suit her. Looking back, I have come a long way now… Cooking for me has metamorphosed from a daily routine of making edible and nutritious food for my family to an exciting journey of creativity by experimenting with different flavors and ingredients.

To me, food is not only for nourishment and sustenance. Its taste and flavors take us back to our good times too. Food is nostalgia and comfort. It brings home our culture. Food is a treat and nourishment for the soul too.

I dedicate this blog to my parents, who instilled in me a strong sense of ethics and discipline, and whose affection, love and support gives me strength in this journey of life.

I feel the need of today’s generation, who come away from their homes and crave for home cooked food. To you too, I dedicate this blog, where I will share the recipes that I have learnt and grown to love over the years.

About Paddy

When I married and came to Bangalore, it was a real ‘Pensioners’ Paradise.’ The climate was as today’s generation would say – ‘Awesome’. It was cool and pleasant throughout the year. My parents cautioned me to keep warm and have given me the loveliest Kashmir shawls, which I treasure to this day. Since I could not distinguish between rice and dal, cooking was an uphill task. I had a cook from Kerala, but the cold weather did not suit her and in a month’s time, she went back. Looking back, I have come a long way now… Cooking for me has metamorphosed from a daily routine of making edible and nutritious food for my family to an exciting journey of creativity by experimenting with different flavors and ingredients. To me, food is not only for nourishment and sustenance. Its taste and flavors take us back to our good times too. Food is nostalgia and comfort. It brings home our culture. Food is a treat and nourishment for the soul too. I dedicate this blog to my parents, who instilled in me a strong sense of ethics and discipline, and whose affection, love and support gives me strength in this journey of life. I feel the need of today’s generation, who come away from their homes and crave for home cooked food. To you too, I dedicate this blog, where I will share the recipes that I have learnt and grown to love over the years.

Discussion

12 thoughts on “Welcome to Paddy’s Kitchen

  1. chechiiiiiiiiiii !!!!! i am really impressed.simple dishes which are really important in your menu–standardised and made easy–along photographs—graced with a window into your experiences and slices of life–rendered in a simple and engaging manner–KA-LA-KI.!!

    Posted by T.Sarala Pillai | January 9, 2012, 3:13 PM
  2. I love your style Padmini-as simple and direct as you are!
    From the look of it,the readers are in for a real online treat.
    Waiting for the next dish
    May be you can even present recipes ‘on demand’

    Posted by Jayashree | January 9, 2012, 9:39 PM
  3. Dear Vama,

    “Crave for home cooked food” I’l second that! After moving out of your house, I missed the tasty and non greasy dishes that you used to make. Hunted for a restaurant that serves similar food. Albeit unsuccessfully.
    About the blog….Great concept and wonderful execution !!!!!!
    J’étais impressionné !

    Posted by Sid | January 22, 2012, 6:56 PM
  4. Ammayi, WOW!!! How wonderful to see this page. It was really a discovery of sorts for me as I really had no idea you were so passionate about cooking. Love reading the little anecdotes interspersed with the recipes. Suffice to say I shall be surely trying my hand out in some starting with the Golden Soup.
    Wishing you a whole lot of luck….:)
    Priya

    Posted by Priya Menon | February 7, 2012, 9:34 PM
  5. I totally adore your writing style…simple, thoughtful and elegant. Bringing back happy days spent in Kerala too. Please keep writing frequently.
    Rajani.

    Posted by Rajani | February 17, 2012, 10:34 AM

Leave a Reply

