//
you're reading...
Kerala Dishes

Mutta Thoran – Kerala Scrambled Eggs with coconut


My children would protest whenever I serve them a fish or meat-less lunch. So, I try to improvise with a Mutta Thoran to pacify them… and most of the time it succeeds !!!  Now they are grown-up and when the occasion arises, I do the same for my son-in-law and grandchildren.

Mutta thoran is scrambled eggs with grated coconut mixture added to it, I use a grinder attachment to grate the coconut and this takes the toughness out of the task.

MUTTA THORAN

Serves: Six       Preparation Time: 15 mts               Cooking Time: 15 mts

Ingredients:

  1. Eggs – 6
  2. Oil – 1 tbsp
  3. Mustard Seeds – 1 tsp
  4. Curry Leaves – 1 stalk
  5. Black Pepper Corn – 1/2 tsp, freshly powdered
  6. Small Onion – 3, cut small
  7. Salt – to taste
  8. Coarse Coconut Mixture

Grind coarsely,

  • Coconut – 1 cup, grated
  • Shallots(small onions) – 3, finely chopped
  • Green Chilli – 2 , finely chopped
  • Turmeric Powder – 1/2 tsp

Preparation

  • Season mustard seeds after heating oil in a thick bottomed pan
  • When it starts  popping, add small  onions  and curry leaves. Saute for two minutes or till onions turns brown.
  • Add course coconut mixture ; stir  for 2 minutes or  till dry.
  • Add beaten eggs, sprinkle salt and pepper. Keep stirring  over low heat until  dry.
  • Serve hot mutta thoran  with rice, chappathis or toast.

Note: In the past, the coconut mixture used to be  just crushed  on a grinding stone (ammikallu).  Be sure that the mixer is rotated just once or twice briefly for the coconut mixture. Do not add water.

Quick TipIf  chappati dough becomes too wet, dry it,  by keeping it in the freezer for some time.

Quick Snack: Cut leftover chappatis – 4, into small pieces.

  • Grind big onion-1 and green chillies-2.
  • Beat 3 eggs.
  • Add onion mixture,salt and pepper to the eggs.
  • Add  chappati pieces to the egg mixture and mix well.
  • Heat 3 tbsp oil in a heavy saucepan.Put into it,the egg-paratha mixture. Stir constantly till the eggs are cooked and dry.

Did You Know: The word sautéing is from the French sauter – to jump. It is the technique of tossing small chunks of meat or vegetables in a pan,  over high heat to promote even cooking and to prevent sticking.

About Paddy

When I married and came to Bangalore, it was a real ‘Pensioners’ Paradise.’ The climate was as today’s generation would say – ‘Awesome’. It was cool and pleasant throughout the year. My parents cautioned me to keep warm and have given me the loveliest Kashmir shawls, which I treasure to this day. Since I could not distinguish between rice and dal, cooking was an uphill task. I had a cook from Kerala, but the cold weather did not suit her and in a month’s time, she went back. Looking back, I have come a long way now… Cooking for me has metamorphosed from a daily routine of making edible and nutritious food for my family to an exciting journey of creativity by experimenting with different flavors and ingredients. To me, food is not only for nourishment and sustenance. Its taste and flavors take us back to our good times too. Food is nostalgia and comfort. It brings home our culture. Food is a treat and nourishment for the soul too. I dedicate this blog to my parents, who instilled in me a strong sense of ethics and discipline, and whose affection, love and support gives me strength in this journey of life. I feel the need of today’s generation, who come away from their homes and crave for home cooked food. To you too, I dedicate this blog, where I will share the recipes that I have learnt and grown to love over the years.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Mutta Thoran – Kerala Scrambled Eggs with coconut

  1. Chicken or the Egg?? Egg,of course! .What would the world be without Eggs. Here’s one dish no one can say No to..I definitely cant !

    Posted by shankar | January 25, 2012, 11:07 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

